Fibrations

ImageI had a great time last weekend at my local fibre festival, Fibrations.  Loads of weavers, spinners dyers, and more. There was even a booth demonstrating how to turn flax into linen. Neato.

I showed great restraint and only came away with one new skein of wool. It is a lovely lace weight from Everything Old that was so inspiring I’ve already cast on for Laminaria.

The beautifully variegated yellows drew me in right away, but do you know what really sold it for me?  The name of the colour way.  That may seem like a ridiculous reason to buy a particular yarn, but stick with me for a moment.  It is not “saffron” or “dandelion” or even “adventure” or “pizzazz”.  No, the name of this colour is “sad trombone”.

Sad trombone. Seriously. Say it out loud. It gets better every time. Sad trombone.

If that doesn’t make you want to smile and then cast on for an Estonian shawl, I don’t know what does.

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.