Shelter

New plan: irregular and infrequent blogging. Sound good? Alright.

Thing 1: I recently treated myself to a few skeins of Brooklyn Tweed’s new wool, Shelter. It is very, very lovely.

Thing 2: My only handknit hat is reallyreallyitchy.

Thing 3: Hats knit up quickly.

Inevitable result: I have a new hat.

I’m very happy with how it turned out. It’s my own design based on the wickerwork stitch pattern. If you’d like to knit one for yourself  you can download the pattern here: Pup Tent.

Disclaimer: I have done my best not to make any mistakes and i can has spellchecker but please let me know if you find any problems. I believe this pattern is good value for zero dollars I’m charging, but it has not been test knit.

Shelter is different from anything I’ve knit with before. It’s rustic and sheepy in a good way and it had a rough feel without being scratchy. I can happily wear in on my forehead for hours. The wool is spun in such a way as to trap lots of air inside. This makes for a surprisingly warm hat when combined with a slouchy fit that keeps even more warm air between my head and the outside world. Cozy.

I’ve named it Pup Tent. This comes from the fact that the triangles in the stitch pattern remind me of little A-frame pup tents. And a tent is a type of Shelter. And I’m not very good at naming things.

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shelter

  1. Camille says:

    Lovely! And very generous of you to publish a free pattern.

Comments are closed.