Button Button

I find that many buttons at, say, Fabricland, appear to have been made in the 70’s and they’re still selling off their stock.  The wrong buttons can easily have a kind of reverse-synergy effect on a sweater, where the sweater and buttons become less than the sum of their parts and the knitting itself looks worse just by physical proximity to the buttons.

With this in mind, I ventured out to Button Button which had been described to me as “the greatest button store in the world”. That might be an exaggeration, I don’t know, but they did have an impressive selection of high quality and hand made options. It amazes me that a store that exclusively sells buttons can stay in business but I’m glad they do.

Here’s one of four pink buttons I bought for a gift for a friend. They’re nicer in person. The other three are attached to a scarf; I wound some spare wool and the extra button around the card from Button Button so that my friend will know where to go if she doesn’t like pink.

I also found some little flower buttons for a baby cardigan. They had nicer flower buttons but they were all shell or glass or something that seemed pretty inappropriate for baby clothes.

Cute, right?

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.