Scarfitude

What have I been up to lately? Mostly chillin’ out, maxin’, relaxin’ all cool. Plus eatin’. And scarf wearin’.

After spending most of November and December busily making gifts for other people, I decided it was time for some selfish knitting. The result was this:

Yarn: 170 yards scraps of Cascade 220 and Elsebeth Lavold Classic AL

Pattern: Scrappy Lengthwise Scarf

Needles: UX 7 (4.5 mm) circulars

Size: 6″ x 70″

(raveled)

I highly recommend this pattern as it yields an excellent effort-to-reward ratio. The entire thing is knit in linen stitch and since I changed colours every row, the bonus feature was that all my mistakes were colour coded. The stitch pattern is “knit one, slip one” so the knit stitch is in the current colour, and the slipped stitch is in the previous colour. So if all is well, I can look at my right needle and see those two colours alternating. When I accidentally slip or knit two in a row, the previous colour disappears off my left needle and is replaced by the colour from two rows ago. As I say, colour-coded mistakes.

The most difficult part was getting random stripes. That shouldn’t be difficult, right? I mean, random is sort of the default, isn’t it? But my brain is wired for patterns and I’m absolutely incapable of selecting colours that “look random”. Even throwing all the wool into a bag and pulling out a different ball out for every row wasn’t foolproof since I knew the general shape and size of the ball of every colour…

The solution? My expert wool randomizer aka colour consultant aka husband. Every ten minutes or so I’d slide my knitting bag down the couch to him and he’d close his eyes, reach into the bag, shuffle things around a bit and, with great flourish befitting the task, produce the next colour. I think he did a great job.

The weather has been just cool enough that I’ve been able to wear this new scarf every day since I finished it. A bit itchy, but I don’t care because it’s pretty.

I’ve also gotten some good wear out of the mitts I shared with you a little while ago. They are just the right weight for our mild winters.

Yarn: 300 yards Koigu KPM

Needles: US 0

(raveled)

And in case you were wondering, I have not been shootin’ any b-ball outside my school. I’m not willing to take off my mitts.

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scarfitude

  1. Frenchknit (Joan) says:

    The scarf is beautiful! I’m still slogging away on the husband’s linen stitch cashmeres scarf… his out of town trips kept getting canceled! At least I can knit out in the open now. Hope 2010 is filled with nothing but good things for you!

Comments are closed.