This makes me happier than it probably should

In “Funny Business”, Rowan Atkinson explains that an object or a person can become funny in three different ways. They are:

* By behaving in an unusual way
* By being in an unusual place
* By being the wrong size

Now, I’d like to believe that I am unique and sophisticated and you can’t predict who I am using simple little lists. Turns out I’m not, I’m not, and you can. Because those are all really funny. Actually, I laughed for about three hours after just reading the list. Finding socks in the fridge? Hilarious. Giant sombrero? Hilarious.

This might also go a long way towards explaining why I’m so enamoured with my latest little project.

Because, you see, it’s tiny and that’s funny. It’s hard to make out, but there’s even a miniature clothes hanger (thank you, paper clip).

Pattern: Cheers! by Cheryl Niamath

Yarn: Cascade 220

Needles: 3.5 mm dpns

(Raveled)

I made this while recovering from my monster cold (almost better now, thanks) and I didn’t have the motivation to work on anything bigger. I decided, for reasons now unclear, that it would be a good idea to knit a tiny sweater for a friend of mine. Part of that decision was based on it being the Eid and him being Muslim and new clothes being a traditional Eid gift. However, I was informed that I was one Eid off and the new clothes Eid was Eid ul-Fitr in September and this is Eid ul-Adha. Somehow though, and this is the part that is unclear, I just didn’t let go of the idea of making him a tiny sweater. Sure, there’s no cultural significance to the gesture anymore, but he so obviously embodies the spirit of a man in need of a tiny sweater. Or something.

Right. So it came to pass that I showed up at his desk on Tuesday morning and, completely out of the blue, presented him with two square inches of sweater. He reacted quite gracefully – saying his thanks and then, clearly trying not to offend me, explained cautiously that he wasn’t sure it would fit him.

Which was a great response, as per item #1 on the list.

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This makes me happier than it probably should

  1. beentsy says:

    That tiny sweater has the added bonus of causing involuntary little ‘oh!’ and ‘squee!’ noises in the viewer. So cute.

Comments are closed.