Warm, practical and cute.

A week camping in late August convinced me that fingerless mitts are absolutely wonderful and I need a pair for every day of the week.

The deer and chipmunks kept quiet about it, but I’m sure they were coveting these bad boys too. Also, they were probably jealous of my opposable thumbs.

How to look fashionable in the bush.

How to look fashionable in the bush.

I started with 75 yard malabrigo mitts and added a little flair of my own. These mitts enabled me to do all the “roughing it” activities like making a cup of tea and turning the pages of my book,while simultaneously maintaining warm hands and looking fashionable.

camping mitts 3

After hearing me marvel at my mitts for a week straight, my husband suggested that he, too, would enjoy warm hands and dexterity at the same time.

I considered knitting him a pair from the same pattern, and I considered knitting Dashing, but neither were quite what I was looking for. In the end I went with a combination of the two, but changed the thumb  and incorporated some suggestions from the future recipient.

husband mitts 2

I’m really happy with how they turned out, especially my changes to the thumb. I like the thumb gusset on the 75 yard malabrigo mitts, but the “thumb pit” area stretched into quite a big hole after the first wearing.  (And we all know there’s nothing more embarrassing than having your thumb pits hanging out for all the world to see.)

husband mitts 1

I’m in the process of writing up a little pattern for these mitts, partly to share with the whole entire world, but mostly because I think these will make nice Christmas gifts if only I could remember how I made them.

And yes, I’m sure there’s a better term than “thumb pit”, but I doubt it’s as satisfying a word so I’m happy to remain ignorant.

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.