Success! One skein of Koigu = one (small) shawl.

Success!

After a few false starts, I managed to turn one skein of Koigu into one perfect little scarf.

Clap1

This scarf is the lazy-woman’s version of Clapotis. Clapotis is usually much, much bigger and, to be honest, also much nicer. But of course it also usually takes more than one skein. Compromises.

What I did instead was to start knitting the pattern according to the “increase” instructions and just then just mindlessly continued increasing until I ran out of wool. I’m sure there’s at least one person out there who has accidentally knitted this version before.

Clap2

Notes:

(1) I used US 7 needles at a gauge of “largish”. Smaller needles would of course have produced a smaller scarf. Since it’s already at the small end of the scarf spectrum, there would be very little distinction between a scarf smaller than this and a useless knitted triangle. If I were doing it again, I might go up another needle size.

(2) I used EZ’s “casting-on casting-off” to produce a wonderfully stretchy cast off edge. This really doesn’t work if the long edge is too tight. See page 24 of Knitting Without Tears or the Purl Bee’s tutorial.

(3) I blocked the hell out of this thing to stretch it as much as possible. It still curls a bit at the edges, but it held most of the stretch.

Clap3

This was possibly the most fun I’ve ever had knitting. I’m not quite sure why that is, but I now have a more personal understanding of expressions like “it just flew off the needles”. The pattern is a good combination of simple and interesting, and knitting a smaller project on larger needles has a high instant gratification factor.

Clap4

This pattern also taught me quite a few things.  I enjoyed seeing how the increases and dropped stitches were placed so that the left and right sides matched. I’m also grateful to the Ravelers who mentioned using a purl stitch rather than a stitch marker to keep track of the stitches to be dropped. When they’re coming at you every six stitches, markers really slow you down.

Clap5

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.