Heeeey little guy…

This little fellow sits on my bookshelf.  My grandma knit about a dozen of these guys years ago to donate to some charity project. My grandpa saw them and felt a connection to this particular one, so my grandma kept it for him and gave the others away.

Hands in his pockets

Hands in his pockets

It’s nothing special in and of itself – just a knit tube sewn in a few places, but I’m so glad to have it. I like that my grandma made it, although it’s certainly not one of the more impressive things she ever made. And I like that my grandma kept it all those years.  I think she must have liked him because my grandpa picked him out of the crowd. And that’s the other reason I like it so much.

Wearing a belt

Wearing a belt

Someday I think I’ll knit one of these myself, but for now it’s nice to have him standing guard on my bookshelf for me.

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.